Reply to topic
mail32.safesecureweb.com listed in Spam Cop
cah


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 19
Reply with quote
http://www.spamcop.net/w3m?action=blcheck&ip=65.36.160.82

Any ideas with why mail32.safesecureweb.com is listed with Spam Cop?

Regards,
Craig
jamie
HostMySite Sales Rep
HostMySite Sales Rep

Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Posts: 770
Location: Newark, De
Reply with quote
I've already addressed this issue earlier today - one of my routine blacklist scans picked it up and I requested more information from the Spamcop system. They said it was due to a 'misconfigured autoresponder', however I have yet to see any details so I'm not sure what they are referring to here. It could be any of 1,000 domains on that server, so I was a bit upset about it myself. Spamcop has delisted the server, however I haven't gotten any followup from them as of yet. I'll keep an eye on this throughout the day tomorrow to make sure this issue does not recur though.
cah


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 19
Reply with quote
Hi Jamie,

Thanks.

If we decided to move to this domain to the "premium" server, what would that entail besides paying the extra money? I am thinking that for this domain it might be a good idea.

And since the premium server is no spam, do you still allow auto responders in the email accounts that reside on it?

Regards,
Craig
jamie
HostMySite Sales Rep
HostMySite Sales Rep

Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Posts: 770
Location: Newark, De
Reply with quote
Craig,

We'd have to shift from one server to another, of course, and beyond that the Premium server offers:

- more stability (1/4 the clients of a 'normal' mailserver)
- IMAP support
- ZERO tolerance on Outbound Spam

Also we are able to provide more disk space on Premium accounts - currently you're limited to 50 / 100 megs on a normal account. The limit on Premium is yet to be determined. If you have any other features you're looking for let me know and I will see if we can get it done!

Oh, regarding autoresponders, yes they are allowed. I'm not sure why SpamCop had a problem with the one on your current server - I'm working on getting further details for that issue now. SpamCop is a bit trigger happy when it comes to spam listings though.
jamie
HostMySite Sales Rep
HostMySite Sales Rep

Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Posts: 770
Location: Newark, De
Reply with quote
I found out what caused such a fuss over at spamcop about this server. One of the domains is recieving over 2.5 million emails per week, and most of them were bouncing because the client had a catchall going to a full email account. All those bounces were what SpamCop was picking up on. Once they actually told me what domain, it was easy to remove the catch-all.
over 2.5 million emails per week?
cah


Joined: 07 Apr 2004
Posts: 19
Reply with quote
Is it really appropriate for one domain on a shared email server to recieve that many emails?

Regards,
Craig
mail32.safesecureweb.com listed in Spam Cop
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic