Reply to topic
Postini F@#KING Rocks!!!
whitesites


Joined: 05 Jul 2004
Posts: 174
Location: Houston, TX
Reply with quote
I have gone from 80+ spam emails / day to none. Not even a single one has slipped through. I have setup all my clients on Postini. The results are phenominal!!! Its almost like spam doesn't exist.
Google
comprug
Forum Regular

Joined: 15 Feb 2006
Posts: 340
Reply with quote
Google Acquisition of Postini.
rainmakr


Joined: 11 Jun 2007
Posts: 4
Location: Omaha, NE
Reply with quote
I've been giving Postini a try recently. I'm disappointed that Postini and the Spamhaus RBL are mutually exclusive. Almost all of the spam that gets through Postini ("very aggressive" setting) would have been rejected if using Spamhaus' RBL. A brief Google of Postini and Spamhaus indicates that they don't get along, and being able to use both will probably never happen Sad
rcorbin


Joined: 02 Jul 2007
Posts: 65
Location: Newark, DE
Reply with quote
The crosschecks from spamhaus's RBL's may not work as all the emails appear to be coming from postinis range. Since its coming from Postini's IP ranges the SpamHaus RBL check wont block it. If you want I can check into this for you, as almost everyone is extremely happy with postini, send me a PM with your hosting information and I can see if I find anything set wrong, or that needs to be set. Usually something like email aliases, or domain aliases that aren't added are the culprits.

-Ray
rainmakr


Joined: 11 Jun 2007
Posts: 4
Location: Omaha, NE
Reply with quote
Thanks, Ray. I've no doubt that I can't utilize Spamhaus and Postini on my configuration. What I meant was that it's a shame Postini doesn't implement SpamHaus' RBL as a check on the Postini system. As I mentioned previously, nearly everything that slips by Postini would have been caught by the SpamHaus RBL. Plus that would add a level of protection for addresses not subscribed to Postini (I know, not what they would want -- no $ for them).

But, you do mention one thing that I will be looking into -- aliases. I do have some aliases which may be slipping through the cracks. I'll have to double-check my SMTP headers and determine the intended recipient...

Thanks,
John
rcorbin


Joined: 02 Jul 2007
Posts: 65
Location: Newark, DE
Reply with quote
Smile IP Based blocking is not always good, expecially because most RBL's are unbiased. If they implemented RBL's your emails from GMail and AOL would sometimes be blocked.

http://foo-projects.org/node/27

Did adding the aliases fix the problem?
Postini F@#KING Rocks!!!
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 1  

  
  
 Reply to topic