Reply to topic
Web Design and Cold Fusion Development Services (New York)
dkanos.com


Joined: 06 May 2004
Posts: 2
Location: Long Island, New York
Reply with quote
DKanos Web Services provides web design and cold fusion develoment services at very reasonable prices. Send us all of your Cold Fusion projects and not only will we give you very reasonable prices, but we will also give you an excellent turnaround time.

If your business is located in the New York area and you need a website designed, send us an email at Sales@dkanos.com and we will gladly send you a quote. For Real Estate listings websites we are now also offering a Cold Fusion web application that allows you to manage your listings. We are also available to photograph your properties and can also create Virtual Tours of your listings.

We are located in Nassau County, New York.
loftboy
Forum Regular

Joined: 24 Jun 2004
Posts: 1129
Location: Colorado
Reply with quote
im not trying to be mean but just an observation

i wouldnt use anyone who used a template from boxedart or whatever on thier home page, thats kinda like false advertising.

hopefully u dont use them on clients sites though
Josh
Forum Regular

Joined: 01 Apr 2004
Posts: 1047
Location: Felton, Delaware
Reply with quote
Where do you see that they're using a premanufactured template?
loftboy
Forum Regular

Joined: 24 Jun 2004
Posts: 1129
Location: Colorado
Reply with quote
cause i have seen them before and i actually stole the flash buttons outa one of them once Wink

its from boxedart.com or templatezap.com or something i dont remember
Josh
Forum Regular

Joined: 01 Apr 2004
Posts: 1047
Location: Felton, Delaware
Reply with quote
LOL!!! Well Alllllllrighty then!!! That is bad though... I make all my own ****, no matter how bad it comes out LOL!!!
loftboy
Forum Regular

Joined: 24 Jun 2004
Posts: 1129
Location: Colorado
Reply with quote
as long as the client knows but i see a lot of ppl charge and clain its triers and thats just wrong
bobum
Elvis Fanatic
Elvis Fanatic

Joined: 16 Nov 2004
Posts: 746
Location: Montgomery, AL
Reply with quote
Why is that wrong?

You think Ford makes their own tranmissions in all their cars? no - a lot are Mitsubishi - but it's still a Ford vehicle.

Check out TV shows like American Chopper - they don't make their own engines - they put it all together, do some custom work and charge $100,000+ for their bikes...

No difference in using a prefab template.
loftboy
Forum Regular

Joined: 24 Jun 2004
Posts: 1129
Location: Colorado
Reply with quote
not what im saying bo bum

like i see this a lot ok
someone will make a forum for a client and use phpbb (which is fine, i do it all the time) BUT they will turn around and remove all the phpbb info in it and charge the client serval thousand dollars and claim the coded it when in fact it took them 10 minutes and they didnt do anything except remove the phpbb info

im just saying i hope they dont charge the client for a lot of work they didnt do and that the client is aware they are using a template. If i was a client and i had a site made for me and i ran across the exact same site and it turned out to be a template without my knowledge, i would be very pissed and someone would be getting their azz sued off!
Josh
Forum Regular

Joined: 01 Apr 2004
Posts: 1047
Location: Felton, Delaware
Reply with quote
I'm with Dave on this one.

When you pay for something that is supposed to be "yours", if it isn't truly designed/developed solely for the customer (an application/design created by the designer/developer for the customer) then that should be disclosed. I just got a client who moved away from his old "webmaster" (enough said, right?) because this guy used some prefab software package and told the customer that it was made just for him, and when the customer wanted to purchase the "rights" to that software the webmaster wouldn't let him, but wouldn't tell him that it was a piece of GNU software created by another company. The webmaster even went to all the trouble to do as Dave said and remove all telltale signs of what it was. BTW, he also charged the guy an arm and a leg for the "design time" he put into it and then wouldn't even let the customer modify it... he insisted on doing it himself and charging the customer hourly for the updates and stuff.

That, no matter who you are or what you say, isn't right. that's just sad and shady. If you don't know what you're doing, maybe you shouldn't be trying to do it.

Im CREATING software for him that does everything he wants and in the end he will own the rights to the source code, design, etc... and I can do that because I'm actually creating this for him.
bobum
Elvis Fanatic
Elvis Fanatic

Joined: 16 Nov 2004
Posts: 746
Location: Montgomery, AL
Reply with quote
I can see what he's saying - disclosure is what you are wanting. But there's nothing wrong with buying a template and putting a customers site up using it.

It's still custom work that is being done.

But selling PHPbb as your own is a violation of copyright. That's just wrong. That is entirely different however from just buying a template and saying "I'll build this site for you and it will cost $X". You are still building the site. It may be a technicality but it's a big one. Places like TemplateMonster.com exists for the sole purpose of doing just that. THAT is what I am getting at. And that's originally the beef that lofty had with this fellas site.

WHY??

Cuz I am no artist or designer and most of the sites I build for my customers are templated and I put A LOT of work into them. Stealing someone elses work and claiming it as your own is wrong and that's what both of your examples are of. Mine however is an example of paying for something and incorporating it into a packaged product (hence the examples). There is nothing wrong with that. I just wanted to make the distinction.
Josh
Forum Regular

Joined: 01 Apr 2004
Posts: 1047
Location: Felton, Delaware
Reply with quote
Right Scott - exactly. Im no artist either, but I give credit where credit is due. I'm also up front with people.
bobum
Elvis Fanatic
Elvis Fanatic

Joined: 16 Nov 2004
Posts: 746
Location: Montgomery, AL
Reply with quote
As long as you realize I am right... Laughing
dkanos.com


Joined: 06 May 2004
Posts: 2
Location: Long Island, New York
Reply with quote
loftboy seems to have missed the fact that we have the templates listed on our website. We don't just take our clients money and give them a random design and tell them we came up with it. We tell our clients to look through the templates and then let us know if they find something that might be close to what they want. We then have to take that template and change it depending on what the client wants. We have even had clients who wanted us to have them as resellers of the templates and we told them that that was not possible because we didn't own those designs, that we had to pay for each one every time we wanted to use one. Yeah, that's right, we pay for each one every time we want to use one, we don't steal them like "some" other people.

As far as the comment that some people take web applications and sell them as their own, we know that all too well becuase it has happened to us a couple of times. We developed Powered Forums and Powered Calendar, both of which have a some point been purchased by other web design companies that have tried to pass them as their own. We know this is going to happen, so what we do now is offer a "branding free" option so our clients can buy our web applications without having to display our name or have a link back to out website.
loftboy
Forum Regular

Joined: 24 Jun 2004
Posts: 1129
Location: Colorado
Reply with quote
naw thats cool Smile
i steal ideas outta templates all the time as well!

it just makes me mad when ppl spend good money for a site and they get a template and have no idea!
maybe the site is still good but when they coulda bought the thing for $60 themselfs but instead pay thousands, that makes me mad and im sure u can understand that.

this whole thread wasnt really pointing a finger at u (i only do that to microsoft!) was just a point in general.

perfect example is a good long lost buddy of mine and i contacted and hes like yeah man i got this great web guy check out my site i only paid a few grand for it, he gave me a great deal. so i look and sure as shintz its straight off of templatemonster.com, didnt even change colors or anything, just photos and that was just this weekend.

but as they know here im very opinionated and have no fear to voice it lol
but really u can be mad or not bottom lines is i look after the honest ppl and there is nothing wrong with using it, so long as they know Smile

and those that are dishonest, u'll hear from me!! haha Wink
wiangube


Joined: 14 Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
Hi dkanos,

I think your web works are good. I liked what you did in www.dkanos.com: it's light, shows what I need as customer, and it's fast too.

I’m looking for a good website development company located in New York. So far I’ve been suggested this:

http://www.ecommercepartners.net

What extra can you offer me?
Web Design and Cold Fusion Development Services (New York)
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
All times are GMT  
Page 1 of 2  

  
  
 Reply to topic